Mindblowing Endurance in Death Valley

Badwater is referred to with a degree of awe for good reason. Whether there may be counter-claims for the title of Toughest Endurance Event On Earth, there is no doubt that this 135-mile slog across Death Valley – a place so hot and dry that without water even highly conditioned endurance athletes face death within hours – holds the original claim to that honour.

Grant Maughan. Just not sure if this is the start line of the single Badwater, or the finish line of his double Badwater….

I am so happy to have just received this epic writeup from Grant Maughan, 2013 Australian competitor. It’s a long piece that really starts with a slow burn but ultimately takes root like wildfire. If you don’t know how it ends, it’s certainly not for me to spoil it for you. Just read it. I dare you to not be moved.

The grime of the road & the desert had peppered me with a thick grungy coating, my teeth felt like unfinished concrete. I could feel the stiffness in my clothing as I moved , caked as they were in salt & dirt. I felt very alive , though physiologically I was probably more like a corpse . To some it is a wonder that people would do this kind of thing to themselves but honestly, I have come to regard that feeling of total depletion & ragged fatigue as a maxim of my existence. I find it quietly satisfying, just like the free dive to the abyss , where you go to a place that your body is not really made to go , but then after your own efforts, return to the place that you really belong.

Grant’s blog is DingoFishExpress and I’ll definitely be ploughing through it further after reading this exceptional piece from the way-out-there. Thanks Grant!

Of course, if you’re too ADHD for a long-form read, Grant’s also kindly put together an 8-minute video. LOVE IT!

One Response to Mindblowing Endurance in Death Valley

  1. That photo at the BW sign was prior to the BW race. There are photos from the end of his double at my blog above (plus other pics from the last 45 miles). I also have higher resolution pics of the ones on my blog if you’re interested; just email me at the address I provided 🙂

Leave a Reply

