Susan’s ‘eye for opportunity’

Here’s another entry in our Running Story Competition, this time from Kristen Brace. She lets us in on the secret of how the mountain girls have all become such good runners.

They train hard! I think we could all do with a friend like Susan.

Kristen Brace putting her training (and her Hokas!) to good use on the Landslide at The North Face 100 earlier this year.

Kristen Brace putting her training (and her Hokas!) to good use on the Landslide at The North Face 100 earlier this year.

I always wear my Hoka OneOne’s when running with my buddy Susan, apart from all the Hoka benefits we all know about, these awesome shoes help me survive Susan’s ‘eye for opportunity’.

Let me give you a few examples;

While training for The North Face 100 this year, we had completed a loop of Mt Solitary, a fairly solid 45km run, we had finished, changed into fresh gear and are in the car with the heater on driving home from Katoomba. We get 5 mins from home and Susan pulls into the RAAF car park and says we have 1hr before we need to pick up our kids from school, let’s run around Knapsack for an hour! O my gosh! I was soo cozy in the car and had no plans or ideas of running again that day. So I change back into my wet n sweaty running clothes, slip on the Hoka’s and off we trot for another hour of running, all I could think was thank goodness I wore the Hoka’s!

Another day we had ran about 50kms around Katoomba, out Narrow Neck through Megalong Valley and up Nellies Glen when we’re 5mins from our car all I could think about was finishing (and coffee) when Susan says, “let’s head back out Narrow Neck, down the Golden Stairs and up Furber Steps! I wish I could see the look on my face but I always go along with her and off we trot to add another hour onto our long run (8hrs) well thank goodness I had my Hoka’s on!

I have many more of these types of stories I wont bore you with (your probably trying to get out the door for a run) what I do have to say is, God love Hoka for helping me keep up with Susan and her ‘eye for opportunity’.

There’s a few extra hours of training clocked up thanks to those pair!! (Susan & Hoka that is).

Thanks heaps for your running story Kristen. 🙂 You are in the running (yeah, bad pun – I know) to win a pair of Stinsons, Tarmac for road and Trail for everything else.

The Hoka OneOne Running Story Competition. GET ON IT!!

The Hoka OneOne Running Story Competition. GET ON IT!!

Leave a Reply

