Broken but unbeaten – check out this Hoka hero, Stuntman Chas!

It’s unlikely that any other running shoe dealer receives this kind of feedback. This particular letter stood out from even the wide range of fantastic correspondence we receive every couple of weeks from people thanking Hoka for making their run fun, fast, or even possible. Thanks so much Chas for letting us share this letter. We love it  : )
To whom it may concern,
I was first told about your shoes by a friend Kim Ballard ( Ballards Offroad ). Kim is an experienced athlete and I am so very grateful for her excellent advice recommending Hoka One One shoes to me.
I have been an active motorcycle club racer for most of my life , raced Sprint Cars and kept above average fitness with a healthy lifestyle.
I am currently employed by Monza Imports Australia. Monza  Imports are one of Aust largest Action Sports Importers and distributors.
Another way to fly...

Another way to fly…

It is fair to say I have lived an active life. Unfortunately I have broken 20 bones during my racing years. I have had 2 knee reconstructions, and at the age of 38 fractured my  left femur , 22cm through the knee cap up my bone  and another 12cm to the side also from the knee. This was 5 years ago. I have not been able to, or been comfortable with running since. I  could only dream of running again. I can recall running 7 klms 3 to 4 times a week and totally loving it when I was 37 before my crash.

I just started surfing again after a good 20 year break. I am in love with surfing and enjoy competing at long board events. But still faced with my weak leg and not being able to run. Last Sept I had another surgery on my left knee and since have been able to use my MTB and road cycle to aid in training.
Cowabunga duuude!

Cowabunga duuude!

I am currently obtaining my Standup Paddle Board Instructors certification needed to start my own, Standup Paddle Board School on the  Hawkesbury and Nepean Rivers, in Windsor & Penrith.

 To be a  certified Surfing Aust SUP instructor you MUST  pass annually a surf lifeguard course. I was totally worried on how  I would  be able to run,  well enough to pass this course and meet the standard required.
Thanks to Hoka One One, I am able to run again and complete the  training needed, to enable me to achieve another goal in life!
Thank you guys for your amazing product.  I am so impressed with the shoes ( I am wearing them every day!). I have my life back! “ time to fly”!
The Guys at Panther Cycles in Penrith are a great store and are very  worthy of your brand!
Kind regards,
Chas Groom

Sales Representative – Monza Imports Aust Pty Ltd

You're a driven man, Chas. Nice to meet you!

You’re a driven man, Chas. Nice to meet you!

About Roger Hanney
Ultramarathon runner. Wannabe adventurer. Writer. Australian HOKA ONE ONE guy. First Type 1 to complete the 4 Deserts Grand Slam. www.runeatsleeprun.com www.type1ultra.com

Leave a Reply

