Going downhill fast…

This was too funny not to share! Guy Andrews is an elite endurance athlete and adventure racer who has come on board with Hoka OneOne Australia over the last few months. Graeme Rundle is a client who has previously asked Guy about Hoka OneOne, and here is his feedback after a first run…

Mr Andrews,
here is my Hoka one one Stinson review.

Started 6 am Sunday Enviro Centre heading off into bush to turn around top of Apple Tree Park approx 20 km total return journey.
The beginning of the run was met with a little scepticism, not quite sure how I felt about them. My wife was constantly asking how they were, what was I feeling in them etc etc. Ive got to admit the first 5 ks I found them really heavy and bulky, especially when I went through 10 creeks in total. Constantly thinking to myself, “I don’t know, I’ll try some others and compare, not really sure at all if I liked them”.

The rest of the way home I was hitting 3 minute k pace with ease, on bloody trails with rocks. I realised you just have to let go, the shoes do the work for you, you just have to point them in the direction and hang on.

Then we turned around and ran back to the car. Down hill most of the way. Well eff me ragged, what the hell was on my feet. Something happened, I have no idea, it was like the bloody shoes were talking to me saying. ” come on, fly you fat bastard, go for it, you can’t feel the ground, let it rip. I have never kicked my wife’s ass on any run ever. I went cruising past her still in second gear, grinning as I glided past her, then I let it rip on the steepest part, it was like down hill skiing mate. I was jumping ridge to ridge, leaping fallen trees, flying down this bloody mountain that almost killed me on the way up. With no fear, no hesitation, only complete control and confidence. Could not believe what I was experiencing. When I got down the bottom and waited for my wife to catch up, all I could say was ” that was fun” lets do it again.
The rest of the way home I was hitting 3 minute k pace with ease, on bloody trails with rocks.
I realised you just have to let go, the shoes do the work for you, you just have to point them in the direction and hang on. F&@$ mate that was the most enjoyable run I have had in bloody years. Unreal.

Graeme Rundle

Leave a Reply

