Team Hoka at The North Face 2012: AURA’s Female Ultra Runner of 2011, Nikki Wynd

Nikki Wynd

Continuing on from yesterday’s profile of Team Hoka’s Andrew Lee (also of Team No Roads) and his preparation for The North Face 100, today’s interview is with Melbourne’s Nikki Wynd, of Team Trails+.

“Brett Saxon from Trails + is a very close friend of mine and I am extremely proud to be racing for him and the Trails + team on Saturday. I also feel honoured to be part of Team Hoka and run with Andy, Jess and Jane, all amazing runners and people who I have looked up to and admired. I’ll be pushing myself to the limit on Saturday and leaving nothing on the table.”

Nikki has unfinished business on the course after an outcome last year that left her far from satisfied. With the benefit of that experience and a year of powerful racing, multiple wins over various distances and course records including the iconic Great Ocean Walk 100km, and a very rare sub-11-hour teams win on the OxFam Trailwalker 100km barely a month ago, she’ll be wearing her game face this Saturday.

Nikki (wearing Stinson Evo) with her Team Trails+ teammates after smashing Melbourne Trailwalker 2012

Hoka OneOne Australia: How hard are you tapering, and is it the best or worst part of training for you?

Nikki Wynd: David Eadie (The Running Man) is writing my program and much to my disgust he is a big fan of tapering, I feel like I’ve hardly run in the past two weeks, but I’ve really freshened up. Both body and mind and my legs are feeling great and ready to race.

Hoka OneOne: What do you think it is about TNF100 that galvanizes such growing excitement from runners old and new each year?

Nikki: There seems to be so much buzz and so much hype that surrounds the TNF. Just look how quick the entries sold out. I think for the serious and not so serious Ultra Runner it’s a great test of fitness and endurance and you get to race against gun runners from overseas in a beautiful part of Australia!

Kicking ass at You Yangs

Hoka OneOne: With some big running and racing already done this year, how will you define success on the day?

Nikki: I had the worst race I’ve ever had last year at TNF and it made me have a good look at training and nutrition. I felt like I crawled into the Fairmont last year. This year for me I want to finish and feel strong. I have a time I’m aiming for but I am keeping that to myself!

Nikki with Trails+ Race Director and friend, Brett Saxon

Hoka OneOne: You’ve gone from strength to strength with great results in Victoria over the last year. What’s the mindset coming across for this one, where hopefully a strong international field will be getting amongst it?Is it a comfortable fit for you to represent both Trails+, the Victorian event production crew, and Hoka?

Nikki: Brett Saxon from Trails + is a very close friend of mine and I am extremely proud to be racing for him and the Trails + team on Saturday. I also feel honoured to be part of Team Hoka and run with Andy, Jess and Jane, all amazing runners and people who I have looked up to and admired. I’ll be pushing myself to the limit on Saturday and leaving nothing on the table, I really hope I can do Brett and Team Hoka proud and finish with a great result.

Hoka OneOne: Anything you’d like to say about your shoes?

Nikki: I can’t rave about the shoes enough and I know every single person I have converted has not been disappointed. It’s nice to go into a race knowing that 50kms in you won’t be complaining of sore feet! Really looking forward to testing them out over the Blue Mountain on Saturday! All I can say is if you haven’t tried them then you are definitely missing out!!

Leave a Reply

