Stinson Evo reviewed by angry Facebooker: Hoka OneOne Australia

When Deb Livermore first got in touch with us it was not love at first sight. Over Christmas an email about shoes not fitting had been eaten by a mail server that went on holiday, so Deb did what you do – put out a plea on Facebook for some customer support. We didn’t have the size needed to replace the shoe she was in but Deb accepted our offer of new Hoka OneOne Stinson Evo to try, even though they might still be over a month away.

We sent her a pair just over a week ago. Over the weekend, she sent us this:

>>
Great weekend running.  Maiden voyage for the Evo’s was a monsoonal type
flood.  Ran on mud and grass and Evos’ didn’t miss a beat.  Around me
people were complaining of the thunder and the hail, but the Evo’s lapped
it up.  Run organisers cut the run short when an amazing lightening show
started. That was Friday night.

 I ran a bit
faster than I intended – I can only blame the Evo’s


Left the Evo’s in a high place and they were virtually dry by 10am Sat
morning.  Sat morning was a 7.5km Xcountry on beautiful grass – almost
like running on an undulating golf fairway.  The run was an interesting age-sex
adjusted handicap event and the Evo’s obviously weren’t comfortable with
my cautious pace while being overtaken by Steve Moneghetti, Marty Dent, Harry
Sumners and world record holder (M55yrs) Keith Bateman.  I ran a bit
faster than I intended – I can only blame the Evo’s – I usually have to push
pretty hard to run 4:50 pace over 7.5km.

Sunday morning we (me and the Evo’s) got up a bit earlier than necessary
to watch the end of the 12hr ultra.  We winced a bit at some of the heavy
footfalls, but the Evo’s loved catching a glimpse of a pair of Bondi B’s
cantering around the bitumen track.

After the deep crossing, the toes of the
Evo’s felt a little heavy after the water had drained, but this lasted for
less than a km.  I didn’t notice the same thing on the shallow crossing.


By 7am, we’d started the 30km lightening strike – commemorating the 2003
Canberra bush fires.  These shoes can really move down hill. Some of my
downhill splits over the 30km were 4:30ish pace.  My 14th km was an
effortless 4:37 and my 28th was 5:12.  There were 2 river crossings – one
thigh deep, the other ankle.  After the deep crossing, the toes of the
Evo’s felt a little heavy after the water had drained, but this lasted for
less than a km.  I didn’t notice the same thing on the shallow crossing.
The terrain was varied – tussocky track, some bitumen road, fire trail,
grass, downhill with plenty of rocks and trip hazards, uphill stairs.  The
Evo’s took it all on.  I’m not fast so was was completely amazed at my
time with an overall pace of 5:52min/km on a trail run with 574m elevation
gain and 725m elevation loss.  This is without a taper or any speed
training in the last 2 months.  This was a training run with a bit of
pepper as part of my preparation for the 6ft in a few weeks.

These are fab shoes.  Thanks for the option.


Cheers

Deb

 

Hoka OneOne Stinson Evo - pic courtesy of Lester at http://www.idigyoursoleman.com


Leave a Reply

